Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Seeing

Ok, so the title is a shameless play on a book I’ve never read.  Be that as it may, back in, let’s call it May, when my blog was down, I saw a bumper sticker on my drive home and immediately wanted to comment on it.  It was yellow and had a little picture of a motorcycle and the text “Start Seeing Motorcycles”.  Perhaps it was all caps, don’t recall.  First, I get the point, and I appreciate that all drivers could pay a little more attention to motorcycles.  I just think it becomes hilarious if you interpret it as “Start ‘seeing’ motorcycles”.  As in, start hallucinating motorcycles!  It’s a directive… these people are telling me, “regardless of what you think you are seeing, start seeing some damn motorcycles!  Now!”

And you know what, I think I do see more motorcycles.  Maybe I’m crazy (Nikki can help you with that one), but I didn’t think we had a motorcycle in our living room before.  Try it yourself.  Next time you are driving, or eating, or counting your fingers and toes for the 80th time just to make sure they are all still there (hey, you’re the one doing it, and yes, it makes you weird), I implore you to start seeing motorcycles (as if you weren’t already… but yes, more).

3 Responses to “Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Seeing”


  1. 1 Dan August 26, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    I would much prefer to “see” them rather than HEAR them, but I don’t get a choice in the latter.

  2. 2 Aunt Chris September 1, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    You should have been here in Milwaukee for Harley’s 105th anniversary…talk about seeing motorcycles!

  3. 3 Vickie September 29, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    Hi Matt,
    I just read your funny Trippy McTripper comment on Unnecessary Quotation Marks and it led me here. Your blog is funny, too. Thanks for making me laugh today.


Leave a Reply

Posts

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

del.icio.us bookmarks

Thanks

I would like to thank Mike Hellrich for hosting a couple redirects for me while I sort out my web server problems.

